LCC celebrates 18th year anniversary

The Literacy Coordinating Council celebrated its 18th year anniversary last November 20, 2009 at SEAMEO INNOTECH, Commonwealth Avenue, Diliman, Quezon City. The celebration, with the theme LCC@18: A Renewal of Commitment, proved to be significant and memorable as it was graced by former members and representatives of the Council and other literacy advocates, such as former presidents of the Philippine Normal University and Council members Commissioner Nilo L. Rosas, Dr. Gloria G.  Salandanan, and Atty. Lilia S. Garcia.

During the program, LCC Chairman Undersecretary Ramon C. Bacani presented a report  about the beginnings of LCC and its activities and achievements for the last 18 years.  He emphasized in his report that the celebration was a great moment and a well deserved one, with LCC’s long years of struggling to understand, find ways, and grasp the essence and meaning of its mission and purpose to bring the good news of literacy throughout the country. He also thanked former Senator Santanina T. Rasul for her dedication to uplift the lives of many people; the late President Corazon C. Aquino for her legacy of freedom and meaningful service to all Filipinos; and the faithful partners, friends, and fellow travelers who have embraced the dream of universalizing literacy in the country. He closed his presentation by saying, “As we begin a new chapter in our journey – a journey to the next eighteen more years into the future, let us promise one another…WALANG IWANAN!”

Also part of the celebration was the awarding of plaques of appreciation to previous and present Council Members, and plaque of recognition to literacy advocate Efren Peñaflorida, 2009 CNN Hero and leader of the Dynamic Team Company, represented by his sister Glenis May Peñaflorida, a teacher from Palmridge School in Las Piñas City. The last and most meaningful part of the activity was the simple ritual of renewal of commitment and advocacy to literacy of Council members.

Photo Gallery

Leave a Comment